The Greatest Thing About Drawing (cont.)

The oil change turned out to be a bust. I was only waiting for ten minutes and a German lady with a little black poodle wanted to talk about the woods fire that was happening right down the road. I conversed just to hear her accent, in between five fire trucks that screamed down the road to do their thing. The oil change was over in a jiffy, not even time to open the pad. Next time I’ll look for a Muy Lento Lube instead.

Managed to continue the piece late at night after everyone else was asleep. It spoke to me of cool ocean waters and winged kelp.

Author: Deanna Kraft

I live in Port Townsend, Washington with my husband and two young sons on a small hobby farm. I retreat to my art room in between farm chores, school activities, gardening, caring for our pets, and practicing veterinary medicine.

Leave a comment